Skip to main content

Anyone, 6 months of age and older, is eligible to receive the COVID-19 vaccine. Find your nearest vaccination location at vaccines.gov.

2022-06 Illinois LPN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs

The Department has received many inquiries regarding continuing education and in particular the upcoming Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) license renewal by January 31, 2023. The questions and answers listed below will hopefully provide some clarification. Please note that a complete copy of the Nurse Practice Act and the Rules may be found on the Department’s Website (IDFPR) or on the Nursing Workforce Center’s Website.

What recent CE requirements are there for Illinois LPNs?

a. The implicit bias awareness training CE requirement (HB158, Public Act 102-004) for

Illionis LPNs will begin as a license renewal requirement in 2023. The law was passed,

the Rules with detail are not yet final.
 

b. Sexual harassment prevention training CE requirement. A law passed in 2019 that went

into effect on 1/1/20, which requires individuals with licenses issued by the Division of

Professional Regulation (DPR) that require continuing education (CE) to renew their

license also complete 1 hour of CE on the topic of sexual harassment prevention

training. This CE requirement is included in the number of hours already required under

the individual Acts and Rules and does not increase the number of hours required to

renew a license. One (1) hour of sexual harassment prevention training CE course is

intended to fit into the LPN licensee’s regular CE requirements. 1 of the 20 hours of CE

required for LPN license renewal must be a sexual harassment prevention training

course.
 

c. Beginning with the 2023 LPN renewal, Illinois LPNs who provide health care services to

and have direct patient interaction with adults 26 years of age and older will be required

to complete a one-hour course in diagnosis, treatment and care of Alzheimer's disease,

along with other dementia types. CE Curriculum will involve how to identify and diagnose

Alzheimer's, effective communication strategies and management and care planning.

This course may count toward the regular CE requirements (Public Act 102-0399, 20

ILCS 2105/2105-365).

What are the CE rules for LPNs who are renewing their license by January 31, 2023?

A: Below is an excerpt from the official rules regarding continuing education: Rules for the Administration of: The Nurse Practice Act: Section 1300.130 Continuing Education
 

     a) Continuing Education (CE) Requirements
 

          1) As required by the Act, all nurses shall complete continuing education as follows: …
 

               A) Beginning with the January 31, 2013 renewal, all licensed practical nurses shall complete 20 hours of approved continuing education per 2-year license renewal cycle.

During what time period must the Continuing Education (CE) be completed?

a. All CE courses must be completed in the 24 months preceding expiration of the license. For the upcoming 2023 LPN renewal, all CE must have been completed between February 1, 2021 and January 31, 2023.

This is my first time renewing my Illinois LPN license - do I need to complete 20 hours of CE prior to January 31, 2023?

a. No, a renewal applicant shall not be required to comply with CE requirements for the first renewal of an Illinois LPN license, Nurse Practice Act Rules: Section 1300.130 a) 4).

I completed continuing education hours for my nursing license in another state, will I be able to use those same completed courses for Illinois LPN re-licensure CE courses {Section 1300.130 (a)(6)}?

a. Yes, CE hours used to satisfy the CE requirements of another jurisdiction may be applied to fulfill the CE requirements of the State of IL for RN re-licensure pursuant to the provisions set forth in subsection (c).

Are there different ways to earn CE hours for Illinois LPN renewal?

a. CE hours for LPN re-licensure shall be earned by verified attendance or participation in a program or course that is offered or sponsored by an approved CE Sponsor. Per the Rules, CE may be earned through a variety of ways including but not limited to inperson classes or seminars, academic classes, teaching CE courses or publication.

Are there equivalencies for Continuing Education CE?

a. 1 contact hour = 1 CE

b. 1 contact hour = 60 minutes

c. 1 academic semester hour = 15 contact hours/15 CE

d. 1 academic quarter hour = 12.5 contact hours/12.5 CE

e. 1 CME = 1 contact hour/1 CE

f. 1 CNE = 1 contact hour/1 CE

g. 1 AMA = 1 contact hour/CE

What academic credits may be used to fulfill CE requirements for Illinois LPN re-licensure in 2023?

a. Academic credits may be used to fulfill CE requirements if the course content is consistent with subsection (c) (3). CE hours are awarded as outlined in subsection(a)(4):
 

    A) College/university courses that are audited may not be used for CE credit.
 

    B) Degree or “core” or general education credits such as English, literature, history, math, music and physical education may not be used.

If a CE course is approved by another State Board of Nursing, and that course has been completed in the required time period for Illinois LPN re-licensure 2023, will those CE credits be eligible for Illinois LPN re-licensure in 2023?

a. Yes, as indicated Section 1300.130 (c) (1) (L).

What if a CE course was taken on-line or through a nursing journal, may these CE credits be used for Illinois LPN re-licensure in 2023?

a. Independent study, that is approved for CE credits as set forth in subsection (c ) may be used, i.e., home study programs, articles from journals, and other health discipline independent study modules. The CE credits as listed on the document of course completion may be used towards Illinois LPN re-licensure in 2023.

Will completion of a skills certification course be used towards Illinois LPN re-licensure in 2023?

a. Up to 5 CE hours may be earned for completion of skills certification courses. A maximum of 2 hours in cardiopulmonary resuscitation certified by the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, Health and Safety Institute (HIS), or other qualified organization may be accepted, while a maximum of 3 hours may be accepted for certification or recertification of Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers (BLS), Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) or their equivalent (Section 1300.130 (b)(6).

Will I have to provide copies of CE course completion documents for Illinois LPN re-licensure in 2023?

a. Each licensee is responsible for maintaining records of completion of continuing education and shall be prepared to produce the records if requested by the Department.

Footer