



Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER	MARIO TRETO, JR.	CAMILE LINDSA
Governor	Secretary	Acting Director
Illinoia BN Cont	inuing Education Frequently Acked	Quantiana (EAQa)

Illinois RN Continuing Education Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

The Department received inquiries regarding continuing education requirement that was to have been completed for Registered Professional Nurse (RN) license renewal by June 30, 2024. The questions and answers listed below will hopefully provide some clarification. Please note that a complete copy of the Illinois Nurse Practice Act and the Rules may be found on the Department's website https://idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/nursing.html or on the Illinois Nursing Workforce Center's website https://nursing.illinois.gov/nursing-licensure/nursing-act-rules.html

- 0. What recent CE requirements are there for Illinois RNs?:
 - a. Pursuant to the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act, 325 ILCS 5/4, nurses who work with children in their professional or official capacities *must complete mandated reporter training at least every 6 years*. Such personnel must attest at each time of licensure renewal on their renewal form that they understand that they are a mandated reporter of child abuse and neglect, that they are aware of the process for making a report, that they know how to respond to a child in a trauma informed manner, and that they are aware of the role of child protective services and the role of a reporter after a call has been made. Starting January 1, 2021, if a mandated reporter receives licensure from the Department, they can use the training towards meeting their required continuing education hours.
 - b. Beginning with the **2024** RN renewal, Illinois RNs who provide health care services to and have direct patient interaction with adults 26 years of age and older will be required to complete a one-hour course in diagnosis, treatment and care of Alzheimer's disease, along with other dementia types. CE Curriculum will involve how to identify and diagnose Alzheimer's, effective communication strategies and management and care planning. This course may count toward the regular CE requirements (Public Act 102-0399, 20 ILCS 2105/2105-365).
 - c. The implicit bias awareness training CE requirement for Illinois RNs will begin as a license renewal requirement in **2024**. Implicit bias is a form of bias that occurs automatically and unintentionally, that nevertheless affects judgments, decisions and behaviors. A licensee may count this 1 hour completion of this course towards meeting the credit hours required for relicensure continuing education/CE. (Public Act 102-004, Admin Code Title 68: Section 1130.500

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068011300E05000R.html)

d. Sexual harassment prevention training CE requirement. A law went into effect on January 1, 2020, which requires individuals with licenses issued by the Illinois Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) that require continuing education (CE) to renew their license, to also complete 1 hour of CE on the topic of sexual harassment prevention training.

The CE requirement for implicit bias awareness training and the CE requirement for sexual harassment prevention training is included in the number of hours already required under the

(2014-10) This document is to be construed as an informal statement reflecting the interpretation of the Department on the particular matter you described and is not intended as an official opinion of the State of IL. Only the Attorney General of the State of IL is empowered to render formal opinions concerning the laws of this State. individual Acts and Rules and does not increase the number of hours required to renew a license.

What are the CE rules for RNs who are renewing their license in 2024?
A: Below is an excerpt from the official rules regarding continuing education:

Rules for the Administration of: The Nurse Practice Act: Section 1300.130 Continuing Education

a) Continuing Education (CE) Requirements

. . .

1) As required by the Act, all nurses shall complete continuing education as follows:

- A) Beginning with the August 31, 2012 renewal, **all registered professional nurses** shall complete 20 hours of approved continuing education per 2-year license renewal cycle.
- 2. During what time period must the Continuing Education (CE) be completed?
 - a. All CE courses must be completed in the 24 months preceding expiration of the license. For the upcoming 2024 RN renewal, all CE must have been completed between June 1, 2022 and June 30, 2024.
- 3. This is my first time renewing my Illinois RN license do I need to complete 20 hours of CE prior to June 30, 2024?
 - a. No, a renewal applicant shall not be required to comply with CE requirements for the first renewal of an Illinois RN license, Nurse Practice Act Rules: Section 1300.130 a) 4).
- 4. I completed continuing education hours for my nursing license in another state, will I be able to use those same completed courses for Illinois RN re-licensure CE courses {Section 1300.130 (a)(6)}?
 - a. Yes, CE hours used to satisfy the CE requirements of another jurisdiction may be applied to fulfill the CE requirements of the State of IL for RN re-licensure pursuant to the provisions set forth in subsection (c).
- 5. Are there different ways to earn CE hours for Illinois RN renewal?
 - a. CE hours for RN re-licensure shall be earned by verified attendance or participation in a program or course that is offered or sponsored by an approved CE Sponsor. Per the Rules, CE may be earned through a variety of ways including but not limited to in-person classes or seminars, academic classes, teaching CE courses or publication.
- 6. How do I know if the sponsor is approved or licensed? Is there a list of approved CE Sponsors and Programs for Illinois RN re-licensure in 2024?

CE sponsors must either be <u>pre-approved</u> per Rule 1300.130 or must have a CE sponsor <u>license</u>. There is no single list of valid CE sponsors.

- a. The list of pre-approved CE Sponsors and Programs is in the Rules for the Administration of the Nurse Practice, Section 1300.130: c) Approved CE Sponsors and Programs
 - 1) Sponsor, as used in this Section, shall mean:

(2014-10) This document is to be construed as an informal statement reflecting the interpretation of the Department on the particular matter you described and is not intended as an official opinion of the State of IL. Only the Attorney General of the State of IL is empowered to render formal opinions concerning the laws of this State.

- A) Approved providers of recognized certification bodies as outlined in Section 1300.400(a).
- B) Any conference that provides approved Continuing Medical Education (CME) as authorized by the Illinois Medical Practice Act
- C) American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) accredited or approved providers.
- D) Illinois Society for Advanced Practice Nursing (ISAPN).
- E) American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP).
- F) Nurse Practitioner Association for Continuing Education (NPACE).
- G) American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA), or National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCNA).
- H) National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS).
- I) American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM).
- J) American Nurses Association-Illinois (ANA-Illinois).
- K) Illinois Nurse Association or its affiliates.
- L) Providers approved by another state's board of nursing
- M) Nursing education programs approved under Section 1300.230 or 1300.340 wishing to offer CE courses or programs.
- N) Employers licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act [210 ILCS 85] or the Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act [210 ILCS 5].
- O) Any other accredited school, college or university, State agency, federal agency, county agency or municipality that provides CE in a form and manner consistent with this Section.
- b. To look up whether an organization holds a license as an Illinois Nursing CE Sponsor, go to the IDFPR website, License Look Up: type in: Nurse CE Sponsor: <u>https://onlinedfpr.micropact.com/lookup/licenselookup.aspx</u>, then type in the name of the organization.
- 7. Are there equivalencies for Continuing Education CE?
 - a. 1 contact hour = 1 CE
 - b. 1 contact hour = 60 minutes
 - c. 1 academic semester hour = 15 contact hours/15 CE
 - d. 1 academic quarter hour = 12.5 contact hours/12.5 CE
 - e. 1 CME = 1 contact hour/1 CE
 - f. 1 CNE = 1 contact hour/1 CE
 - g. 1 AMA = 1 contact hour/CE
- 8. What academic credits may be used to fulfill CE requirements for Illinois RN re-licensure in 2024?
 - Academic credits may be used to fulfill CE requirements if the course content is consistent with subsection (c) (3). CE hours are awarded as outlined in subsection (a)(4):
 - A) College/university courses that are audited may not be used for CE credit.
 - B) Degree or "core" or general education credits such as English, literature, history, math, music and physical education may not be used.
- 9. If a CE course is approved by another State Board of Nursing, and that course has been completed in the required time period for Illinois RN re-licensure in 2024, will those CE credits be eligible for Illinois RN re-licensure in 2024?

(2014-10) This document is to be construed as an informal statement reflecting the interpretation of the Department on the particular matter you described and is not intended as an official opinion of the State of IL. Only the Attorney General of the State of IL is empowered to render formal opinions concerning the laws of this State.

- a. Yes, as indicated Section 1300.130 (c) (1) (L).
- 10. What if a CE course was taken on-line or through a nursing journal, may these CE credits be used for Illinois RN re-licensure in 2024?
 - a. Independent study, that is approved for CE credits as set forth in subsection (c) may be used, i.e., home study programs, articles from journals, and other health discipline independent study modules. The CE credits as listed on the document of course completion may be used towards Illinois RN re-licensure in 2024.
- 11. Will completion of a skills certification course be used towards IL RN re-licensure in 2024?
 - a. Up to 5 CE hours may be earned for completion of skills certification courses. A maximum of 2 hours in cardiopulmonary resuscitation certified by the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, Health and Safety Institute (HIS), or other qualified organization may be accepted, while a maximum of 3 hours may be accepted for certification or recertification of Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers (BLS), Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS), or Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS) or their equivalent (Section 1300.130 (b)(6).
- 12. Will I have to provide copies of CE course completion documents for Illinois RN relicensure in 2024?

Like all other CE you must receive a Certificate of Completion and retain it for your records. The Certificate must include information a such as the number of hours completed, the name of the sponsor or provider, and the date the CE was completed. You will not need to provide a Certificate if you renew on time, but you may be asked to confirm that you have completed the training. You may need to provide a Certificate if you renew late, need to restore or reinstate an expired license, or if you are included in a CE audit.

(2014-10) This document is to be construed as an informal statement reflecting the interpretation of the Department on the particular matter you described and is not intended as an official opinion of the State of IL. Only the Attorney General of the State of IL is empowered to render formal opinions concerning the laws of this State.