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New Continuing Education (CE) requirement for Illinois LPN, RN and APRN license renewal 

beginning January 1, 2020 
  

A new law passed earlier this year requires sexual harassment prevention training for all persons 

who hold a professional license issued by the Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) for professions that 

require continuing education (CE) to renew.  The law requires licensees to complete a one-hour CE course 

in sexual harassment prevention training.  This requirement shall become effective for all applicable license 

renewals occurring on or after January 1, 2020.  This CE requirement is included in the number of hours 

already required under the individual Acts and Rules and does not increase the number of hours required 

to renew a license. http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068011300E04000R.html 
  

This is my first time renewing my Illinois LPN, RN or APRN license – do I need to complete the 1 hour of 

sexual harassment prevention training CE prior to license renewal in 2020? 

No, a renewal applicant shall not be required to complete 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training 

prior to the first renewal of an Illinois LPN, RN or APRN license.  
  
How many hours of Continuing Education (CE) will I need for 2020 license renewal? 

This 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training CE course is intended to fit into the licensee’s regular 

CE requirements.  RNs will be renewing their licenses in 2020, 1 of the 20 hours of required CE must be a 

sexual harassment prevention training course. APRNs will be renewing their licenses in 2020, 1 of the 80 

hours of required CE must be a sexual harassment prevention training course. LPNs will begin renewing 

their licenses in late fall 2020 until January 31, 2021, and 1 of the 20 hours of required CE must be a sexual 

harassment prevention training course.  
 

How long is the sexual harassment prevention training course? 

The sexual harassment prevention training course must be at least one hour or 60 minutes, which is 1 CE.   
 

I received sexual harassment awareness training from my employer.  Does that count? 

It will depend if your employer is an accepted or approved CE provider, and if you received a CE Certificate 

for the training.  Please check with your employer to see if they qualify. 
 

What are the new CE rules for Illinois LPNs, RNs and APRNs renewing their licenses in 2020? 

The new Rules regarding a sexual harassment prevention training course indicate that such courses shall 

only be provided by existing Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) -approved continuing education 

providers or sponsors or by persons or entities who become DPR-approved continuing education sponsors.  

There is no special license specifically for sexual harassment prevention courses.  Please contact the 

sponsor or provider in advance to confirm that they either have a CE provider license issued by DPR, or they 

are listed as a “pre-approved” sponsor under the Illinois Nurse Practice Act or Rules.  

How do I know if the sponsor is approved or licensed?  Is there a list of approved CE Sponsors and 

Programs for Illinois nurse license renewal in 2020? 
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To fulfill the requirements of this new law the CE sponsor or provider must be authorized to provide CE by 

the Act or Rules for any profession administered by DPR.  The sponsor or provider can either have an 

‘active’ CE provider license or can be listed as a ‘pre-approved sponsor in the rules for the profession.  For 

Illinois nurses, CE sponsors must either be pre-approved per Rule 1300.130 or must have a CE sponsor 

license.  The list of pre-approved CE Sponsors and Programs is in the Rules for the Administration of the 

Nurse Practice Act, Section 1300.130: http://nursing.illinois.gov/NursingCE.asp 

c)  Pre-Approved CE Sponsors and Programs 

       1)   Sponsor, as used in this Section, shall mean: 

            A)   Approved providers of recognized certification bodies as outlined in Section 1300.400(a).  

 B)   Any conference that provides approved Continuing Medical Education (CME) as authorized by 

the Illinois Medical Practice Act.  

              C)   American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) accredited or approved providers.  

              D)   Illinois Society for Advanced Practice Nursing (ISAPN).  

              E)   American Academy of Nurse Practitioners.  

              F)   Nurse Practitioner Association for Continuing Education (NPACE).  

              G)   American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, or National Board of Certification and 

Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists.  

              H)    National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS).  

               I)    American College of Nurse Midwives.  

               J)   Illinois Nurses Association or its affiliates 

K)    Providers approved by another state's board of nursing 

L)   Nursing education programs approved under Section 1300.230 or 1300.340 wishing to offer CE 

courses or programs. 

                            M)  Employers licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act (210 ILCS 85) or the Ambulatory Surgical 

Treatment Center Act (210 ILCS 5) 

 N)  Any other accredited school, college or university, or State agency, federal agency, county 

agency or municipality that provides CE in a form & manner consistent with this Section. 

Please note that this is not a complete list.  In addition, organizations may obtain CE sponsor licenses issued 

by the Department. 
License Look Up: type in: Nurse CE Sponsor:  https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/LicenseLookup.asp 

Is this a one-time requirement of will I have to take this training again? 

Sexual harassment prevention training will be required for every renewal after January 1, 2020. 
 

I have multiple licenses issued by IDFPR.  Will I have to take multiple classes?  

No, you may use one class to satisfy this requirement for multiple licenses. 
 

What is the fee for Illinois LPN, RN or APRN license renewal in 2020? 

The fee for the Illinois RN or APRN license renewal in 2020 shall be calculated at the rate of $40 per year, or 

$80 at the time of renewal.  For Illinois LPNs, whose license renewal begins in late fall 2020 and ends 

January 31, 2021, the fee for the renewal shall be calculated at the rate of $40 per year, or $80 at the time 

of renewal.  

 

Additional Continuing Nursing Education information, including a FAQ sheet and a list of pre-

approved CE sponsors is available on the Illinois Nursing Workforce Center Website 

http://nursing.illinois.gov/NursingCE.asp  


