



### New Continuing Education (CE) requirement for Illinois LPN, RN, APRN and FPA-APRN license renewal beginning in 2024

The Department continues to receive inquiries regarding continuing education required by the Registered Professional Nurse (RN) by the license renewal deadline of May 31, 2024. The questions and answers listed below will hopefully provide some clarification. Please note that a complete copy of the Illinois Nurse Practice Act and the Rules may be found on the IDFPR website (<u>https://nursing.illinois.gov/nursing-licensure/nursing-act-rules.html</u>). Nursing re-licensure CE information is available on the Illinois Nursing Workforce Center's website at <u>https://nursing.illinois.gov/nursing-licensure/continuing-education.html</u>.

#### New 2024 Requirements:

The <u>implicit bias awareness training CE</u> requirement is required of all persons who hold a professional license issued by the Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) and are subject to a continuing education (CE) requirement beginning after January 1, 2024. The DPR webpage has implicit bias awareness CE information <u>https://idfpr.illinois.gov/dpr.html</u>.

Implicit bias is a form of bias that occurs automatically and unintentionally, that nevertheless affects judgment, decisions, and behaviors. Any training on implicit bias awareness applied to meet any other State licensure requirement, professional accreditation or certification requirement, or health care institutional practice agreement may count toward the one-hour implicit bias awareness training requirement for license renewal.

A licensee may count the one-hour completion of this course towards meeting the credit hours required for re-licensure continuing education (Public Act 102-004, Admin Code Title 68: Section 1130.500 <u>https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068011300E05000R.html).</u>

This requirement shall become effective for all applicable license renewals occurring on or after January 1, 2024. Use this link to the DPR webpage with implicit bias awareness CE information: <u>https://idfpr.illinois.gov/dpr.html</u>.

<u>Alzheimer's Disease</u>: Beginning with the **2024** RN renewal, Illinois RNs who provide health care services to and have direct patient interaction with <u>adults 26 years of age and older</u> will be required to complete a one-hour course in diagnosis, treatment and care of Alzheimer's disease, along with other dementia types. CE Curriculum will involve how to identify and diagnose Alzheimer's, effective communication strategies and management and care planning.

This course may count toward the regular CE requirements (Public Act 102-0399, 20 ILCS 2105/2105-365).

Sexual harassment prevention training CE requirement. A law went into effect on January 1, 2020, which requires individuals with licenses issued by the Illinois Division of Professional Regulation (DPR) that require continuing education (CE) to renew their license, to also complete one hour of CE on the topic of sexual harassment prevention training.

#### How many hours of Continuing Education (CE) will I need for 2024 license renewal?

- This new one hour of implicit bias awareness training CE course is intended to fit into the licensee's regular CE requirements. RNs will be renewing their licenses in 2024, with one of the 20 hours of required CE to be an implicit bias awareness training course, while another one of the 20 hours of required CE must be sexual harassment prevention training.
- For APRNs and FPA-APRNs will be renewing their licenses in 2024, one of the 80 hours of required CE must be this new one hour of implicit bias awareness training course, while 1 of the 80 hours of required CE must be sexual harassment prevention training.
- LPNs will begin renewing their licenses in late Fall 2024, and one of the 20 hours of required CE must be this new implicit bias awareness training course. Another one of the 20 hours must be a sexual harassment prevention training course.

## What are the CE Course Rules for Illinois LPNs, RNs, APRNs and FPA-APRNs renewing their licenses in 2024?

The NPA Rules regarding CE requirements indicate that courses shall only be provided by existing Division-approved continuing education providers or sponsors or by persons or entities who become Division-approved continuing education sponsors.

# How do I know if the sponsor is approved or licensed? Is there a list of approved CE Sponsors and Programs for Illinois nurse license renewal in 2024?

CE sponsors must either be <u>pre-approved</u> per Nurse Practice Act Rule 1300.130 or must have a CE sponsor <u>license</u>. The list of pre-approved CE Sponsors and Programs is in the Rules for the Administration of the Nurse Practice Act, Section 1300.130:

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068013000A01300R.html.

- c) Pre-Approved CE Sponsors and Programs
  - 1) Sponsor, as used in this Section, shall mean:
    - A) Approved providers of recognized certification bodies as outlined in Section 1300.400(a).
    - B) Any conference that provides approved Continuing Medical Education (CME) as authorized by the Illinois Medical Practice Act.
    - C) American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC) accredited or approved providers.
    - D) Illinois Society for Advanced Practice Nursing (ISAPN).
    - E) American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP).

- F) Nurse Practitioner Association for Continuing Education (NPACE).
- G) American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, or National Board of Certification and Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCNA).
- H) National Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists (NACNS).
- I) American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM).
- J) American Nurses Association-Illinois (ANA-Illinois).
- K) Illinois Nurses Association or its affiliates (INA).
- L) Providers approved by another state's board of nursing.
- M) Nursing education programs approved under Section 1300.230 or 1300.340 wishing to offer CE courses or programs.
- N) Employees licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act (210 ILCS 85) or the Ambulatory Surgical Treatment Center Act (210 ILCS 5)
- O) Any other accredited school, college or university, State agency, federal agency, county agency or municipality that provides CE in a form & manner consistent with this Section.

Please note that this is not a complete list. In addition, organizations may obtain CE sponsor licenses issued by the Department. Use IDFPR's License Lookup tool at

https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/LicenseLookup.asp (be sure to use "Nurse CE Sponsor" as the profession).

### This is my first time renewing my Illinois LPN, RN, APRN or FPA-APRN license – do I need to complete the one hour of implicit bias awareness training CE prior to license renewal in 2024?

No, a renewal applicant shall not be required to complete one hour of implicit bias awareness training prior to the first renewal of an Illinois LPN, RN, APRN or FPA-APRN license.

#### What is the fee for Illinois LPN, RN, APRN or FPA-APRN license renewal in 2024?

The fee for the Illinois RN, APRN or FPA-APRN license renewal in 2024 shall be calculated at the rate of \$40 per year or \$80 at the time of renewal. For Illinois LPNs whose license renewal begins in late Fall 2024 and ends January 31, 2025, the fee for the renewal shall be calculated at the rate of \$40 per year or \$80 at the time of renewal.

Additional Continuing Nursing Education information, including a FAQ sheet and a list of preapproved CE sponsors is available on the Illinois Nursing Workforce Center Website <u>https://nursing.illinois.gov/nursing-licensure/continuing-education.html</u>