Illinois Nursing Workforce Center
  nursing.illinois.gov
Skip to Content
Governor JB Pritzker
Committed to the Nursing Profession
888-NURSE07 [888-687-7307]
 
Skip to Search Skip to State Links
 
 

Continuing Nursing Education

 
CE REQUIREMENTS

As required by the Act, all nurses shall complete continuing education as follows:

Document  

2020-03 Sexual Harassment Prevention Training CE requirement for license renewal beginning January 1, 2020 for Illinois LPN, RN, and APRNs

PDF

 

LPN licensure renewal: 20 hours of approved Continuing Education will be required for the February 1, 2017 through, January 31, 2019 license renewal cycle.

LPN Continuing Education Re-Licensure FAQs

Document  

2020-02 Illinois LPN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs

PDF
2019-07 Illinois LPN Continuing Education Pre-approved Sponsor Information PDF

RN licensure renewal: be required for the June 1, 2018 through May 31, 2020 license renewal cycleā€¯ update to reflect the new end date of May 31,2020.

Illinois RN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs

Document  

2020-03 Illinois RN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs

PDF
2019-07 Illinois RN Continuing Education Pre-approved Sponsor Information PDF

APRN licensure renewal: 80 hours of approved Continuing Education will be required for the June 1, 2018 through May 31, 2020 license renewal cycle.

Illinois APRN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs

Document  
2020-02 Illinois APRN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs PDF

Document  
2019-10 Safe Opioid Prescribing Practices Continuing Education (CE) Requirement in Effect for all Prescribers Renewing in 2020 PDF