Illinois Nursing Workforce Center
  nursing.illinois.gov
Skip to Content
Governor Bruce Rauner
Committed to the Nursing Profession
888-NURSE07 [888-687-7307]
 
Skip to Search Skip to State Links
 
 

Continuing Nursing Education

 
CE REQUIREMENTS

As required by the Act, all nurses shall complete continuing education as follows:

LPN licensure renewal: 20 hours of approved Continuing Education will be required for the February 1, 2017 through, January 31, 2019 license renewal cycle.

LPN Continuing Education Re-Licensure FAQs

Document  

2017-07 Illinois LPN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs

PDF
2017-07 Illinois LPN Continuing Education Pre-approved Sponsor Information PDF
IL Nurse Practice Act Rules Section 1300.130, Continuing Education PDF

RN licensure renewal: be required for the June 1, 2018 through May 31, 2020 license renewal cycleā€¯ update to reflect the new end date of May 31,2020.

2018-11 Illinois RN Continuing Education Relicensure FAQs

APN licensure renewal:50 hours of approved Continuing Education will be required for the June 1, 2016 through May 31, 2018 license renewal cycle.

Document  

2018-11 Illinois RN Continuing Education Re-licensure FAQs

PDF
2018-11 Illinois RN Continuing Education Pre-approved Sponsor Information PDF
IL Nurse Practice Act Rules Section 1300.130, Continuing Education PDF