Illinois Nursing Workforce Center
Skip to Content
Governor Bruce Rauner
Committed to the Nursing Profession
888-NURSE07 [888-687-7307]
Skip to Search Skip to State Links

Nursing Faculty Receive Fellowship Awards


The Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) FY 2008 Nurse Educator Fellowship award recipients are pictured with IBHE Executive Director Judy Erwin and IDFPR Director of Professional Regulation Daniel E. Bluthardt.  The IBHE and the Advisory Board for the Illinois Center for Nursing recognized the 2008 Nurse Educator Fellows during the advisory board’s August 2008 meeting. This distinguished group of nursing faculty were nominated by their schools of nursing to become part of this select group of 15 Nurse Educator Fellows in fiscal year 2008. This program helps to ensure the retention of well-qualified nursing faculty at institutions of higher learning by providing a one-time salary supplement to the fellows.  

In the Photo (Left to Right) IBHE Nurse Educator Fellowship Recipients:

  1. Rashidah Abdullah , MS, RN, CNM, Harry S Truman College
  2. Lee Schmidt, PhD, RN, Loyola University of Chicago
  3. Karen Egenes, EdD, RN, Loyola University of Chicago
  4. Judy Erwin, Executive Director, IBHE
  5. Frank Lyerla, PhD, RN, SIU Edwardsville
  6. Michele Bromberg, Nursing Act Coordinator, IDFPR
  7. Daniel E. Bluthardt, Director of Professional Regulation, IDFPR
  8. Sandra Drozdz Burke, PhD, RN, ISU
  9. Mary J. Dyck, PhD, RN, BC, LNHA, ISU
  10. Linda Duncan, DNP, RN, North Park University
  11. Connie M. Dennis, PhD, RN, Illinois Wesleyan University
Other recipients not pictured:
  1. Kim Amur, PhD, RN, DePaul University
  2. Mary Weyer , EdD, RN, APN, CNS, Elmhurst College
  3. Karen Brandt Baldwin, PhD, RN, NIU
  4. Beth Nachtsheim Bolick, MS, RN, APN-BC, CPNP-AC, CCRN, Rush University
  5. Trudy DeWaters, PhD, RN, APN, North Park University
  6. Carla Ferguson, MSN,RN, CNE, CCRN, Oakton Community College
  7. Paula N. Kagan, PhD, RN, DePaul University