Illinois Nursing Workforce Center
Skip to Content
Governor Bruce Rauner
Committed to the Nursing Profession
888-NURSE07 [888-687-7307]
Skip to Search Skip to State Links

Nursing Faculty Receive Fellowship Awards


The IBHE and the Advisory Board for the Illinois Center for Nursing recognized the 2009 Nurse Educator Fellows during the advisory board’s May meeting. This distinguished group of nursing faculty were nominated by their schools of nursing and competed against 37 applicants to become part of this select group of 15 Nurse Educator Fellows in fiscal year 2009. This program helps to ensure the retention of well-qualified nursing faculty at institutions of higher learning by providing a one-time salary supplement to the fellows.   This fall the IBHE will be seeking new applicants for the program, pending the appropriation of state funds.

FY 2009 Nurse Educator Fellowship Awards Ceremony (left to right, 1) MariJo Letizia, PhD, RN, APN/ANP-BC; 2) Mary K. Pabst, PhD, RN; 3) Victoria Folse, PhD, RN, APRN, BC, LCPC;  4) Mary Kakenmaster, MSN, RN; 5) Thelma Warner, MSN, RN; 6) Jodene Scheller, PhD, RN; 7) Teresa A. Saxton, MSN, RN; 8) Dawna Egelhoff, MSN, RN; 9) Michele Bromberg, MSN, APN, BC, Advisory Board Chair; 10) Mary Ann Freitag, DNP, RN; 11) Dianne M. Bazell,PhD, IBHE Deputy Director; 12) Sandra Hughes, PhD, RN; 13) Peggy A Gallahger, EdD, RN, CNE; 14) Frances R. Vlasses, PhD, RN, NEA-BC; and 15) Nancy Kipnis, MSN, RN) Unable to attend, Nancy Oldenburg, EdD, RN, CPNP and Patrick Robinson, PhD, RN, ACRN.